Share |
print
« Back to News & Events

New NoveList Features: Goodreads, Read-alikes, and Author Information

Posted October 3, 2011

As you know, we are always working to make the products and services we offer you even better. We recently released an updated version of NoveList and are excited to share these new enhancements with you.

Reader Reviews from Goodreads

  • All of the NoveList databases now include reader ratings and book reviews from Goodreads. This partnership between NoveList and Goodreads brings the content of Goodreads, the largest social network for readers, into NoveList, the most popular readers’ advisory service among librarians. Readers and librarians now have access to not only the best reviews from professional sources but reader ratings and reviews, continuing our tradition of being the most complete readers’ advisory service available.
  • Clicking on the link to Goodreads in NoveList takes you to the reviews section of the Goodreads page. Patrons can add reviews if they have a Goodreads account. Those who do not currently have a Goodreads account can create one from this page and then add reviews. The link to Goodreads opens a separate window, so that it is easy for readers to go back to NoveList.

Easier to Find Read-alike Content in NoveList

  • We have made it easier to find all of the great read-alike content in NoveList. In addition to the NoveList Read-alikes located on the right side of every Title, Author, and Series Detail page (accessed by clicking the link to the title, author or series), we have added links to Title, Author, and Series Read-alikes at each record in the search results.
  • When you open one of these read-alike lists, you will see our Thumbs Up/ Thumbs Down feature that allows you to easily provide us with feedback on our recommendations. We’re always open to suggestions from our users and hope that the location of this feature will make it even easier for you to let us know whether you agree or disagree with a recommendation.  Note that this Thumbs Up/Thumbs Down feature is also available at Author, Title, and Series Detail pages.

Easy to Find Author Information

  • We pulled everything that NoveList knows about an author and placed it at the Author Detail page. Typing in your reader’s favorite author’s name in the search box at the top of any page in NoveList will take you to the Author Detail page where you will find:
    • Author read-alikes (on the right hand side of the page)
    • Librarian hand-crafted author descriptions (which includes why readers love the author and a suggested first book to read)
    • A list of all of the books by that author,
    • A list of all the series by that author (if applicable).