Share |
print

« Back to NoveList Blog Home

Reading Westeros: “Walk of Punishment”

Post by Cathleen Keyser
Posted April 18, 2013 in NoveList Plus, NoveList Select, Readers' Advisory News

NoveList SpotLight Image

Three down, seven to go. It's a tragedy that this season is only ten episodes long; if you're like us, you've been hastily seeking out anything to satiate your GoT cravings in between Sundays. 

NoveList already has some great author, series and title readalikes for George R.R. Martin and his Song of Ice and Fire series, so we are going to use these blog posts as an opportunity to go beyond similar fantasy reads and recommend books, movies, web articles, and other interesting links that relate to themes and motifs in each episode.

Last week, we covered episode 2: "Dark Wings, Dark Words." 

Episode 3: "Walk of Punishment" 

Oh, how the plot is progressing! Though it is Daenerys who walks the true Walk of Punishment in Astapor, we see many of our characters walking in their own punishment. As she contemplates her next move, Daenerys decides on what the role of suffering and reparation will be in her rule. The Starks are still suffering the loss of Eddard "Boromir" Stark. Catelyn feels like a neglectful mother and daughter. Robb is seeing the world close in on him, in what looks like an insurmountable fight against the Lannisters. Arya is in the protection (captivity?) of the Brotherhood Without Banners along with her sworn enemy, The Hound. Beyond the Wall, Jon Snow is confronted with the wrath of the White Walkers and can only hope that some of his Black Brothers survived the encounter (and he does all of  this very handsomely). 

The Lannisters are not without their own crosses to bear -- Tyrion has taken over the role of Master of Coin from Littlefinger and he begins to realize what a predicament both he and the Seven Kingdoms are in. Jaime plays up his family's wealth and privilege to his captors and learns that the Lannister name isn't feared and revered everywhere. What has heretofore been a blessing to Jaime is now a curse, and his as he knew it is over. Theon's torture, on the other hand, has ended, thanks to that mysterious and helpful servant. 

 

We recommend...

The Magicians (2009) by Lev Grossman
Game of Thrones has always delighted in undercutting the whimsical and romantic elements of the fantasy genre. It's all well and good to rouse an army to avenge your father's death or to become an expert in swashbuckling swordplay, but all it takes is an incompetent uncle or a psychopath with a meat cleaver to disrupt your once well-laid plans. Fans who enjoy the cynical realism of the show might also enjoy The Magicans, a smart and subverisve coming-of-age fantasy novel about a young man who enters a secret academy for magicians, believing it to be an escape from his frustrations with the normal world. He learns, however, that his new life is filled with intense dangers, complex relationships, and even deeper feelings of guilt and heartbreak. 

Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back (1980)
I think Jaime might appreciate George Lucas' handiwork (too soon?).


Cathleen is Collection Development Coordinator at NoveList.