Share |
print

« Back to NoveList Blog Home

Beyond Read-alikes: What Else Can You Find in NoveList?

Post by Lori Reed
Posted October 07, 2013 in NoveList Plus, NoveList Select

NoveList SpotLight Image

When you think of NoveList you probably think of great read-alikes and reading recommendations. But did you know that we also have articles, lists, and other content to help you with everything from creating a book display to planning a book discussion? These items are written by our fabulous team of NoveList staff and contributors who are experts in the areas they cover. 

This month, let's look at five kinds of items you may not know about, but should. Use the links below to see instructions for how to find this content in NoveList. 

  1. Author Read-alike Articles: These are the ideal solution for readers who have finished all of their favorite author's works and are looking for similar authors. Each article includes a description of why fans love this author followed by a list of additional authors that address the same appeal factors. 
     
  2. Award Lists: NoveList maintains a variety of reputable award lists, crossing a tremendous range of genres, subject areas, and reading levels. You can find Award Winners in every category from Literary, First Novels, and African-American literature to Fantasy, Science Fiction, Student Choice, and Picture Books. 
     
  3. Book Discussion Guides: Designed to prompt in-depth discussion with a book group, these guides can also be used by students to expand their own experience of a book. Each guide includes a brief biography of the author, a summary of the book, suggested questions with answers about the book, and suggestions for further reading.
     
  4. Common Core Connections: Short subject- and grade-focused guides that provide educators a model for Common Core State Standards-based instruction. Each guide focuses on three nonfiction titles and offers standards-based questions and two activities that can be used to help deepen student learning.
     
  5. Curricular Connections Articles: Written for librarians, teachers, or parents looking for books to connect reading across curricular areas, or ways to engage younger readers with books. Each article presents a topic, genre, subgenre, or topic along with hand-crafted annotations for the titles mentioned as well as suggestions for instructional use. 

Stay tuned -- next month we'll be featuring 6 more types of content don't want to miss. 


Lori Reed is the Customer Relationship Coordinator for NoveList. An avid Doctor Who fan, when not working or chasing her two kids around, Lori enjoys reading fantasy and sci-fi as well as nonfiction.