Share |

« Back to NoveList Blog Home

All Wrapped Up: A Look Back at 2015

Post by Cassi Hall
Posted November 19, 2015 in NextReads, NoveList Plus

NoveList SpotLight Image

As we approach the end of this year and start heading into the next, it’s good to pause and reflect on all the great things about the year we’re leaving behind. So without further ado, let’s take a look at some of the most popular lists, articles, appeal terms, and more in NoveList and LibraryAware from 2015. 

Top 10 Most Searched Titles in NoveList

YA books aren’t just for teens -- readers of all ages love these titles! These were the 10 most often accessed titles in NoveList:

  1. The Hunger Games
  2. The Maze Runner
  3. The Fault in Our Stars
  4. Teeny Little Grief Machines
  5. The Last Leaves Falling
  6. Diary of a Wimpy Kid
  7. Wonder
  8. Go Set a Watchman
  9. Divergent
  10. Finding Ruby Starling

Top 10 Recommended Reads Lists for Adults

You don’t need to be Sherlock Holmes to see that NoveList users love their mysteries! These lists received the most clicks:

  1. Best Of Fiction A-Z 2014
  2. Best Historical Fiction of 2014
  3. Best Mysteries of 2014
  4. Getting Cozy
  5. Classic Mysteries
  6. Best Thrillers & Suspense of 2014
  7. Police Procedurals
  8. Best Fantasy of 2014
  9. Classic Historical Fiction
  10. By the Book

Top 5 Recommended Reads Lists for Teens

Dystopian fiction is still on top for teen readers. Here are the lists with the most clicks:

  1. Best Of Teen Fiction 2014
  2. 2015 Mid-Year Teen Faves
  3. Contemporary Teen Romance
  4. Dystopias
  5. If You Like…The Hunger Games

Top 5 Recommended Reads Lists for Older Kids

Older kids were looking for laughs in 2015. These are the most frequently used lists:

  1. Best Of Older Kids Fiction 2014
  2. 2015 Mid-Year Older Kids Faves
  3. If You Like…Diary of a Wimpy Kid
  4. If You Like…Harry Potter
  5. Laugh Out Loud

Top 10 Character Appeal Terms

From flawed to sympathetic, NoveList users loved searching for a wide range of characters to read about! Here are the character appeals with the most titles attached to them. Want to know more about appeals?

  1. Flawed
  2. Complex
  3. Likeable
  4. Well-developed
  5. Authentic
  6. Quirky
  7. Strong female
  8. Sympathetic
  9. Introspective
  10. Spirited

Top 10 Newsletter Articles & Blog Posts

2015 was the year of Nonfiction and Storytime for our newsletter subscribers. These were the most clicked on articles. Sign up now if you don’t already receive our newsletter.

  1. Nonfiction Read-alikes for Fiction Bestsellers
  2. Help Patrons Find the Book They Never Knew They Were Looking For
  3. It’s All About That Frame
  4. Venturing into New Territories: High Interest Adult Nonfiction for YA Readers
  5. Reading Science Fiction for Pleasure
  6. How to Choose Great Storytime Books
  7. Storytime Toolbox
  8. Funny Women: Getting a Laugh in a Man’s World
  9. Give Them Goosebumps (Or Something Like It)
  10. Romance for Non-Romance Readers

Top 5 Favorite LibraryAware Designs

We loved these designs LibraryAware users made this year!

  1. Book Face
  2. Read a Graphic Novel
  3. Family Storytime
  4. Anti-Dystopian YA
  5. Libraries & Librarians in Fiction

Top 5 NextReads Newsletters

These are the NextReads newsletters with the most overall subscribers.

  1. Fiction A-Z                          
  2. Mystery                                              
  3. Thrillers and Suspense  
  4. NY Times Fiction                              
  5. Historical Fiction

What were some of your favorite things from NoveList this year? We’d love to hear about them in the comments.

Cassi Hall is the Communcations Specialist at NoveList.